Skip to content

Labor and Delivery: Part I

April 21, 2012

Well, hello again!  I finally have a moment to breathe and update you on how week 40 went.  In my last post, I shared my hopes of having a full moon baby, but to no avail, baby Connor had different ideas.

The full moon had little effect on him coming out, but may have aided in the progression and onset of labor.  I lost large chunks of my mucus plug (TMI, I know), my belly dropped considerably lower, and the crampiness and off feeling continued on throughout the night.  So much that I decided to start my maternity leave on February 8th, the Wednesday before my due date.

It was the best decision I could have made.   It was my last day of rest.  I even indulged in an hour long prenatal massage (and had them focus on those very important labor induction points).  That evening, I could sense that something would be happening soon and before I went to bed that night I decided to snap one last belly pic just in case.

Image

I slept horribly that night and spent the evening peeing every 20 minutes and trying to sleep through the worse back ache.  I finally fell asleep at 2:30 AM, but sensed I would be waking up to labor.

I was right.  I woke at 4:50am to pee and found that once I finished and had stopped an additional fluid continued to flow.  Immediately, my mind began to race with the thought that my water had just broke.  I was 90% sure I hadn’t sleepily continued to dribble out urine and rushed to the bedroom to wake up my husband.  As soon as I woke him I had the convincing gush that I needed.

We made the necessary calls and within 30 minutes I was at the hospital waiting for our little one to come.  If it were possible, I would have much rather spent early labor at home, but because my water broke and I was GBS+ this wasn’t possible.

By 5:30 am (2/9/12), I was hooked up to the necessary IVs (antibiotics and fluids,) and geared up for the natural, drug and intervention free  labor I had planned for.

Image

Well, things didn’t go as expected and well over 24 hours later I finally met the tiny person I had spent the past 9 months growing.  Our baby boy came into this world via emergency c-section and was absolutely perfect in every way.

Meet Connor, born on February 10, 2012 at 10:12 AM–just one day late and one whole day after labor started.

Image

Image

Image

As, I’ve implied, things didn’t go as planned, but in the end it didn’t matter.  In fact, it all worked out for the best.  Stay tuned for a more thorough labor story, it’s a doozy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2012 10:44 pm

    Connor is absolutely beautiful!! I’m sorry your labor didn’t go as planned but it’s all worth it isn’t it momma?! 😉

Leave a Reply

