Skip to content

Weeks 31-34

January 23, 2012

Let’s cut to the chase here, I’m a slacker.  Weeks 31-34 flew by faster than I can type D-E-C-E-M-B-E-R and here we are now, well into January.  The holiday season and baby planning prep sucked the life out of me which is why I’ve gone so many weeks without updates.

To quickly recap the earlier weeks, let me just start by saying how much of it was chaos.

Week 31:  The week of bodily pain.

After days of severe pain in my foot, I was diagnosed as having a stress fracture and had the fun of wearing a walking boot for 3 weeks. Trust me, being pregnant and walking around with a boot adds a whole new level of difficulty to the pregnancy waddle.

Add to that the joy of pregnancy induced carpal tunnel and increased difficulty sleeping at night–I was not a happy camper.  I swear, I was two steps away from becoming a “bah-humbugging Scrooge”.

Week 32:  The week of disappointing lab work.  Or was it?

After months of monitoring my anemia, my most recent tests showed that my iron levels continued to drop.  I had already been upped on the iron supplements, which had the midwives worried.  Fortunately, more thorough testing showed that everything was fine and that my blood levels looked good.  Anemia in check=one happy preggo!  Taking high doses of Iron 3x a day was not fun!

Week 33:  Merry Christmas baby!

After nearly a month of living without carpet or an accessible kitchen (all our misplaced furniture was consuming it) our new carpet was finally installed on the Friday before Christmas.  We also began to receive the first round of gifts for baby.  Included in that lot of gifts was the mystery Kindle Fire.  It’s a mystery because I have no idea who sent it to me.  Another friend suggested it was Santa, but I don’t know and Amazon will not tell me.  However, I will not look a gift horse in the mouth and will gladly accept my new toy which is sure to come in handy while I sit in the hospital or during night-time feedings.

Week 34:   Oh, BTW you actually have an ultrasound at your appointment tomorrow…

We had our last (and might I add unexpected) ultrasound during this week and get this, after 34 weeks of waiting we finally know what baby is.  I hadn’t realized that we were due for another US,  the last one showed that everything looked good and the placenta had moved enough to remove any concern.  Well, apparently, one of the midwives decided it was better to be cautious and take an extra look.  Fortunately, the placenta had moved even further and removed any doubts.  And, because Craig begged me to ask, I had the tech take another look to see if we could get an answer.  There it was clear as day, the evidence we had waited for–we’re having a BOY!


via

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 12:03 pm

    Yay for baby boy!! 😀

Leave a Reply

