Skip to content

19 weeks

October 24, 2011

written 9/22/11

I learned a valuable lesson this week.  While pregnant, walking long distances just isn’t the same!

We spent the weekend visiting friends and family in the city.  And, as any city-goer knows, it involved a lot of walking.  I dressed comfortably in a t-shirt, jeans, and a pair of (what I thought were comfy) boots.  Those boots were not made for walking.

I was so uncomfortable that we ended up cabbing it to most of our stops (I may have spent a good $100 on cab fare alone!).  By the end of the day my pregnant feet were killing me and I was exhausted. I honestly don’t know how pregnant celebs can prance around in their fancy heels at 8 months pregnant.  SERIOUSLY.  How in the H.E.L.L do they do it?

My husband also came down with a horrible cold this week and it made me feel like a huge jerk.

Rather than being sympathetic or compassionate, I was rude.  It was not because I didn’t feel bad about him being sick, but A) I didn’t feel like catering to his whining (I had my own aches and pains to deal with) and B) I didn’t want to get sick.  I was already feeling like crap due to the random return of morning sickness, and adding a horrible cold on top of it was not in my ideal future.

We’re also just days away from determining what this little monster growing inside me is.  I keep going back and forth between girl or a boy.  And, at this point I’m leaning towards boy.  Not because I want a boy over a girl, but because I’ve convinced myself we will be having a girl.

I figure if I go in thinking this baby is a boy, I won’t set myself up for disappointment.  Don’t get me wrong, we’ll be happy no matter what he or she is.  The goal is to have a healthy baby and that’s all that will matter in the end.  So, here we wait on pins and needles until we get our next glimpse at our sweet babe.

19 weeks, 4 days

*I also learned that stripes are not a pregnant woman’s friend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 3:15 pm

    You look fantastic!

  2. October 24, 2011 3:25 pm

    Stripes are totally a pregnant woman’s friend. Yours, at least. 🙂 Ugh, I can’t imagine how the long walk felt. 😦 Sorry hubs is sick, too!

Trackbacks

  1. 20 weeks « The Artsy Butterfly

Leave a Reply

