Skip to content

16 weeks

October 12, 2011

written 9/1/11

Swoosh, swoosh, swoosh. We finally heard our baby’s heart beat via doppler and heck for once he or she made things easy.  The midwife actually exclaimed “I like this baby!” (we like him or her too) because as soon as she stuck the doppler to my belly we could hear its little heart swooshing at 156 bpm.  It was wonderful!  For once our stubborn little babe was cooperating.

Overall, baby’s heart sounded healthy, my weight gain (or stand still) was right on track, and the fundus of my uterus was right where it should be just below my belly button.  I went ahead and felt for it with the guidance of the midwife, but to be honest I had no idea what I was feeling and nodded my head in agreement when she asked if I could feel where it ended.

My belly is really starting to pop out and it’s finally looking less like I ate too much and more like I’m growing a baby inside of me.  The down side to this is that I’m not blessed with stretchy/forgiving skin and have noticed my first stretch marks blooming 0n my belly.  No beuno :(.  Sorry mom, I’m not as lucky as you (6 kids-0 stretch marks).

I also went into I want everything I can’t have crave rage.  Oh sushi!  I miss you and wish I could devouer a full boat of your raw fish, soy soaked, wasabi spiked goodness!  It’s just not fair I want you, I need you, I can’t wait to eat you.  *Note to husband:  take wife to sushi dinner after labor!  Another food I’ve been missing like nobodies business is a good roastbeef sandwhich…now I’m talking about bloody roastbeef piled high on toasted rye with a little bit of mayo, spiced mustard and lettuce and tomatoes….mmmm I think I just had a food-gasm!

Arghhh!! I think my crazy cravings are in part because I know I can’t have them.  Though, the bloody beef craving may because I’m now slightly anemic (what a surprise) and my body just wants iron containing foods.  Another strange thing I’ve noticed is that in general I am not craving veggies like I used to.  I’m typically a veggie head and love myself some good healthy salads and carrot sticks, but something about them now makes me squirm…maybe it’s a texture thing or maybe it’s my need for meat—I just can’t seem to want them like I usually do.

Oh, and let’s not mention my poor achy back!  It started with a dull ache at around 14 weeks, but has progressed to constant severe pain.  I seriously have a hard time bending over, getting up, or performing any type of movement that requires torsion.  Heck, sneezing is even painful and in turn I have become a huge pain.  I actually had to ask my husband to help paint my toenails the other day and he obliged–now, if that’s not love I dunno what is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 9:56 am

    Aww, you look gorgeous! What an adorable belly pic. I totally agree with you – when I first felt our little one, (I’m 38 weeks pregnant,) it didn’t feel like flutters, butterflies or popcorn to me… so much so I wasn’t sure if what I was feeling was really the baby! In the beginning it felt like indigestion, and then it almost felt like a goldfish in a plastic bag of water, bumping up against the side… that’s the only way I can explain it! 😉

  2. October 22, 2011 9:56 am

    Aww, you look gorgeous! What an adorable belly pic. I totally agree with you – when I first felt our little one, (I’m 38 weeks pregnant,) it didn’t feel like flutters, butterflies or popcorn to me… so much so I wasn’t sure if what I was feeling was really the baby! In the beginning it felt like indigestion, and then it almost felt like a goldfish in a plastic bag of water, bumping up against the side… that’s the only way I can explain it! 😉

Leave a Reply

