Skip to content

Once a Bride, Recently a Bridesmaid

June 8, 2011

Catie and Mike, two of my dearest college friends were blissfully wed a little over a month ago and it was wonderful.    Every detail of the wedding was perfection and I couldn’t have felt more honored being a part of their big day (and am even more grateful that my bridesmaid dress actually zipped..wooohooo weightloss!).  This was a day of firsts for me.  It was the first wedding that I had been in besides my own and it was the first wedding I was able to photograph.

It started off easy enough, gathering detail shots of the bouquets….

…and capturing moments of the girls getting ready (all while I was rushing around to get ready myself).

I was even able to capture one pre-ceremony and had Craig help with getting a couple during the ceremony itself (since I very well couldn’t).

And, then there were the reception details…oh how I love the details!

The cake was beautifully decorated with peacock feathers  and topped with the most adorable peacock couple (a family friend handcrafted them for the lovely pair).

Pansies and hydrangeas filled wooden flower boxes that Mike’s dad had created for the occasion.

I couldn’t resist grabbing detail shots of Catie’s stunning look and even one of our fancy-peacockesque bridesmaid gowns.

The reception tent and ambience were just lovely.

The band played on while guests chattered and sampled hors d’ouvres.

And, then there were dinner toasts….

….and cutting of the cake!  (I just love that picture of Mike BTW!)

The party soon followed, but not in the standard sense.   There wasn’t dancing to a high energy DJ, there were games and lots of them!

Scrabble letters scattered about became a crossword of messages for the couple.  And, let’s not forget the prize baskets, pool, poker, and variety of other games!

All in all, it was probably one of the most fun and entertaining weddings I’ve ever been to.  And, how could it not be with such a riley bunch!?

So, here’s to a big congrats to my dear friends and wishes of many happy years to come.  You guys deserve it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 12:23 pm

    Beautiful photographs!! You have some talent!

Leave a Reply

