Skip to content

Putting My New 50mm f/1.4 To Use

January 13, 2011

As you may have guessed, I couldn’t wait to get started playing with my new lens  And, what better way to use it than to showcase some of my lovely Etsy products?  With new props (thanks Momsie)and lens in hand I took my first fancy pictures for my shop and I am in love with the results.

Eeeee!  I am so excited with all the new possibilities this lens is bringing me.  I love that the object of interest comes in so crisp and clear while the background offers that lovely professional looking blur.  I’ve even played around with my favorite photo subjects…the family dogs!

Phoenix, my family’s dog

Our girl, Molly

Though I’m eager for a new camera (hoping for a 7D and wishing for a 5D), this new lens will tide me over until I have the funds to make that purchase.  In the meantime, I figure it’s much wiser (and more economical) to invest in lenses and learn them through and through. Either way, teaching myself photography has me very excited and has provided me with another great creative outlet.

Are you teaching yourself a new art?  What is your favorite go-to lens?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 1:43 pm

    Dang girl I would love a 1.4!!! Can’t afford it just yet!! But you are right – investing with lenses is the way to go. Once you feel limited with your body (usually the ISO levels) then it’s time to upgrade. Your depth of field (DOF) and focus are right on!! Keep shooting 🙂

  2. bluebutterfly10 permalink*
    January 13, 2011 2:07 pm

    Thanks Deb! I was so excited to see the lens when I opened my gift…I seriously stopped opening other gifts. Craig really hit the nail on the head! I am thinking the next one to get is a 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Standard Zoom Lens…the zoom lenses I have aren’t great.

  3. January 24, 2011 3:07 pm

    A. I LOVE your pieces! I have a friend who contributes to a blog that highlights Etsy shops–can I pass your shop information on to her?

    B. I got a 50 mm f/1.8 lens for Christmas and am loving it so far. Makes a huge difference for food photos!

    • bluebutterfly10 permalink*
      January 24, 2011 3:15 pm

      A) Yes, that would be awesome if you could pass along my shop info!

      B) Yes, the 50mm is awesome! I was only wishing for the 1.8 and was luckily spoiled with the 1.4…it makes a huge difference in photos for sure!

  4. February 11, 2011 5:15 pm

    I love these photos. The photo of Phoenix is awesome.

Leave a Reply

