Skip to content

Christmas Comes But Once A Year

January 13, 2011

And, now it’s come to pass, so here’s to a belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

I know it’s a little bit late coming, but I wanted to share all the joy this Christmas brought.  Sharing our first Christmas together as husband and wife couldn’t have been more perfect.

The night before Christmas Eve was spent wrapping gifts and neatly tucking them under the tree…thankfully, Mom was there to help with the task.

Our tree…

Earlier that day, Mom and I rush around to find those last minute gifts for everyone and it was exhausting!  I will not do that again!!  (Or at least that is what I keep telling myself each and every year).

The latter part of the day was spent preparing for the night’s planned festivities.  A ‘roast’ in the slow cooker, wine chilling in the fridge and snacks stocked–we were ready to host my family and all the craziness.  We spent a portion of the evening dropping by a friend’s Night Before Christmas party, which was fun, but with hungry tummies we didn’t stay very long.  Post-party our apartment was instantly full of ravenous beasts (aka my 2 brothers, sister, her boyfriend, mom, and my dear husband).   The night was filled with food, laughter, gift giving and overall lazing around.

Christmas Eve ‘Roast’

Maple on my brother’s back

Molly wearing one of my gifts from Craig (a new camera bag)

and, lazing around…

The next day my family was off and we hit the road for Christmas Part II with my new in-laws.  We  spent our evening enjoying a good meal,  great company and finished the night off with a movie.

Homemade stuffed manicotti=delicious!

These two cuties had a blast playing all night.

And, then we exchanged more gifts….can you guess what I got?

If you guessed a brand new 50mm f/1.4 lens, then you would be correct!  I was so excited to finally get this lens- I have had my eye on it for a while and couldn’t wait to play with it.

Craig got his watch…

Momsie #2 got framed wedding photos…

The pups each had their moments in the spot light.

And, Craig & I had fun playing with long shutter speeds and light.

Per tradition, we received more ornaments to add to our collection…

Overall, this past year’s festivities were absolutely wonderful and I wouldn’t change a thing about them.  We spent our time with people (and pups) we love and that’s what mattered the most.  It definitely has us looking forward to the many Christmas to come.

Did you celebrate your first Christmas as newly weds?  Was it difficult splitting up the time between families or did you find an easy solution?  What was your favorite 2010 Christmas memory?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

