Skip to content

Craftoholism=Quitting My Day Job??

December 15, 2010

I have a secret (well, maybe not so secret).

I suffer from a pseudo serious condition that has caused me to look at life in a totally different manner.

I’m a craftoholic.

I  eat, drink and breathe crafts.

It all  started at a young age with a strong thirst for the gateway crafts;  popsicle sticks, glitter- glue, crayons, and paste.  In high school I started hitting the hard stuff; sewing, sculpting and scrap-booking.  And, in college when my friends needed their craft fix they came to me for the goods.  I was a self-proclaimed craft diva armed with an arsenal of scissors, cardstock, sharpies and fabric.  Little did I know that I hadn’t seen anything yet.

In planning my wedding I was introduced to a whole new level of crafting.  I discovered many wedding and craft blogs and could not get enough of the handmade goodness and the fancy gadgets that they featured.  With an overflow of inspiration being thrown at me I knew I could easily craft my own wedding and did just that.  I may have had my doubts from time to time and often received wonky-eyed looks when I tried to explain my visions of fabric flower bouquets, but I persevered.  Months later here I am, post-matrimony, no longer a bride and still crafting for weddings.  And, you know what?  I couldn’t be more thrilled!  So thrilled in fact that I find myself daydreaming about one day quitting my day job and turning my love for weddings and crafts into a career.

Reading about other sellers in the “Quit Your Day Job” section has been truly inspiring.  Many of them offering the same words of wisdom on how to get noticed.  So, in my attempts to become more well-known in Etsy-land, I decided to reach out to the community and hopped onto the critique forum.  Upon other sellers’ suggestions, I decided that it was time for a new banner.  I wanted to make sure that I was conveying the right message to potential buyers and updating my banner was my first step.  And, to be honest, they were right, it definitely needed a change.  Though cutesy and pretty, it didn’t necessarily let buyers know what I had to offer.

So, the other night I created these pretties…

Attempt #1=Success!

I loved this one so much that I quickly updated my store front and said goodbye to my old one.  With its fancy text and lovely mix of colors, this banner is a much better representation of what my shop has to offer.

Attempt #2

In my second and third attempts I kept things fairly similar as far as font and layout,  but made changes to the pictures and background colors.

Attempt #3

I love them all, but had a hard time figuring which I liked best.  So, I went ahead and created a fourth option.

Attempt #4

I think it may be my favorite thus far, but I’m not quite ready to put it up yet.  I figure each of them deserves their brief moment in the spot light so my plan is to cycle through them and ask for opinions.  What are your thoughts?  Is there one you like best?

As far as quitting my day job?  Well, I don’t expect that to be happening any time soon, but hey, a girl can dream!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 2:11 pm

    GURRRRRL I know the feeling!! I say follow the passion! Your banners look awesome – I say stick with your gut and test each one out for a bit. You could always rotate them to keep your etsy site looking fresh 🙂

  2. Britnee permalink
    December 15, 2010 2:39 pm

    I love them all and agree that you should just rotate them out to keep it interesting and fresh. Although if I had to pick I like #3 the best. Those bouquets are just my favorite! I wish you the best of luck because you are truly talented. I know I will definitely be telling everyone I know who did the flowers at my wedding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

