Skip to content

G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S…Glamelias

November 24, 2010

I don’t know why, but as soon as I learned what one of these lovelies was, I instantly thought of Fergie’s Glamorous, and now it’s stuck in my head.  And, despite it all, I don’t care because these “flowers” are absolutely incredible.

Created by painstakingly adjoining petals from dozens of roses to form one giant bloom, the Glamelia sure does make a statement.  With my love for everything vintage, I can’t help but hop on the bandwagon of loving this recent trend.  Originally popularized in the 40’s and 50’s, the Glamelia screams vintage glam and I am eager to try and recreate my very own Glamelia bouquet using techniques I’ve learned in making my fabric flowers.

Once I happened upon this giant puff of pretty, I searched to see if any other DIYers had tempted their fate at a fabric Glamelia.  And, sure enough in Etsy-land I found a seller that had.

By Etsy Seller, AveC

This seller did a great job at recreating the flower, but I have a little something different in mind.  I am not quite sure which technique I plan on toying with, but right now I am leaning towards the same style I used for one of my first fabric floral creations featured below.

Personal Photo

Don’t you think it would be rocking once it’s pumped up a few sizes?  I do!

 


5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 8:29 pm

    Those are beautiful! Very real-looking. You do a great job translating the reality.

  2. Amanda permalink
    January 1, 2011 1:49 pm

    I’d definitely be interested in something like the 3rd photo for my bridesmaids… I have fallen in love with the look of glamelias! Would you let me know if you’re able to create them?

    • bluebutterfly10 permalink*
      January 1, 2011 2:20 pm

      I should have no problem creating something like this for you! Please head over to my Etsy shop and send me a message there so we can discuss setting up your custom listing.

  3. January 21, 2011 11:03 am

    In my search for different images of glamelias I came across your site – so excited to see that you’re also Mrs. Locket from the ‘bee!

    I’m also super interested in what you are beginning to make in the third photo, for myself and my BM’s. Will check out your Etsy shop!

    • bluebutterfly10 permalink*
      January 21, 2011 11:30 am

      Thanks for stopping by! I am still working on my glamelia creation…I’ve been so busy with other orders and haven’t had a chance to finish this other project.

Leave a Reply

